Nominations Sought for Employees of the Year at SWOSU


Southwestern Oklahoma State University ’s Brandy Awards honor the faculty, administrator and staff members of the year as chosen by SWOSU students who will vote during the Student Government Association elections coming up April 10-11. 

Students are invited to nominate their favorite people by April 6.

“Students are always talking about how ‘this secretary saved my life today,’ or ‘I wouldn’t be here without Dr. So & So.’  Because of that, the Collegiate Activities Board created the Brandy Awards, to honor those people on campus who go the extra mile,” said Kayla Nieman, CAB events chairman.

Nominations should include the name of the nominee (all SWOSU employees are eligible for nomination) and a paragraph about why that person is deserving of the award. Nomination forms and a drop box are available in the Dean of Students Office, Stafford 214.  Students can also email their nomination to the Collegiate Activities Board at or to Dean Cindy Dougherty at  All nominations are due by April 6. Signature of the nominator is optional. 

All three winners receive a traveling Brandy Award plus an engraved pen set. The winners will be announced during “Staff.Administrators.Faculty Appreciation Week” that is coming up April 16-20 as part of a week of activities designed to say “thanks to the great employees at SWOSU, according to Nieman.

Last year’s winners were Lisa Appeddu, Misty Williams and Roberta Williams. They received the first-ever SWOSU Brandy Awards.