SWOSU Orchestras Planning Salute to Oklahoma Centennial


Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s Orchestra and Southwest Oklahoma Youth Orchestra are planning a special concert commemorating the Oklahoma Centennial celebration.

The concert is planned Tuesday, April 24, at 8:15 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center on the SWOSU campus in Weatherford. Admission is free.

Selections, by all American composers, will include highlights from the musical Oklahoma (the source of Oklahoma’s state song), Western Scenario, Variations on a Shaker Melody, Scherzo, My Favorite Things, and Pirates of the Caribbean.

Conductor of the SWOSU Orchestra is Dr. Robert Chambers. The SWOSU string faculty includes David Robillard, JoAnne Rogers and Kathy Dobrinski. Graduate assistants are Pam Yost and Garrett Rodriguez.

Chambers encourages everyone to attend and help celebrate Oklahoma’s great heritage.

The Southwest Oklahoma Symphony includes the following personnel: Brittini Albrightson, Nicholas Bessinger, Christian Edwards, Christina Edwards, Sarah Fast, Chaslea Frantz and Belinda Lee, all of Weatherford.

The SWOSU Orchestra members are as follows: Violin: Sara Abernathy, Oklahoma City; Jill Adams, Lawton; Shannon Aldredge, Oklahoma City; Justin Crook, Crowder; David DeLoera, Bethany; Kathryn Dorton, Enid; Hector Lopez, Weatherford; Jennifer Mansour, Edmond; Melissa McSpadden, Weatherford; David Robillard, Oklahoma City; and Lona Scott, Weatherford. Viola: Kimberly Stewart, Bartlesville. Cello: Kathy Dobrinski, Weatherford; Angela Krieger, Hinton; Garrett Rodriguez, Stinnett, TX; and Pam Yost, Ponca City. Bass: Chris Embree, Del City; Daniel Hibbert, Weatherford, and JoAnne Rogers, Weatherford. Piano: Devon Krause, Okeene. Flute: Mollie Baker, Canadian, TX; Megan Blevins, Bartlesville; and Kayla McLaughlin, Clinton. Oboe: Christen Spaeth, Altus; and Annette Wojciechowsky, El Reno. Bassoon: Joyce Teghtmeyer, Weatherford. Clarinet: Katy Gaither, Norman; and Anna MacDonald, Walters. Horn: Stephen Gooch, Weatherford; and A.J. Powell, Altus. Trumpet: Steven Conner, Alva; Elisa Endres, Gainsville, TX; and Nicholas Lindley, Cordell. Trombone: Braden Boily, Enid; David Hagan, Ochelata; and Michael Tidwell, Lawton. Tuba: Craig Krieger, Hinton. Percussion: Enid Hennen, Tecumseh; and John Scarritt, El Reno.

Upcoming orchestral activities include a children’s concert for elementary students and a string camp for July 8-13.