Western Oklahoma Teachers Attending SMART Program at SWOSU


Thirty-three teachers from the western half of Oklahoma are participating in a Science and Mathematics Association of Rural Teachers (SMART) program at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford.

As part of the year-long program directed by SWOSU’s Dr. Brian Campbell, the teachers are spending nearly one month until July 13 on the SWOSU campus getting direct, hands-on training in science, mathematics and technology and their applications in PreK-12 education.

The teachers will also attend three fall 2007 and three spring 2008 semester sessions.

Campbell said the sustainable learning community serves to alleviate the relative isolation of teachers in rural Oklahoma classrooms and provide rich supplemental learning experiences in areas where formal and informal resources are sparse or school budgets are prohibitive.

Each teacher is in a small group and moves through the content stations of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computer science, geology, mathematics, physics, and the nature of science.

The program is made possible by the Oklahoma Department of Education. Nineteen school districts and educational organizations are participating in the program.

Participating teachers are:

  • ALINE-CLEO—Becky L. Bebermeyer and Jami M. Birchfield
  • ALTUS—Stephanie J. Fixico and Teresa L. Schroeder
  • ANADARKO—Jeffrey Ray
  • ARNETT—Dick Kau
  • CALISBURG—David Shaw
  • CLINTON— Sha R. Carpenter, Jaclyn C. Helt, Tracy Henry, Sue A. Moore, Marie A. Pool and Joe D. Ray
  • CORDELL—Shara Garmon
  • EL RENO—Anita Hawkins, Nancy M. Salsman, Terri L. Willey and Derek W. Scheihing
  • FREDERICK—Kimlan J. Lee
  • HENNESSEY—Cyndi Ice
  • HYDRO—Marta G. Black
  • GEARY—David S. Garmon
  • LITTLE AXE—Janrie Blankenship
  • MANGUM—Paula L. Banister, Sherri L. Toole and Tara M. Zachary
  • MUSTANG—Sally Bishop and Lori J. Chaffee
  • OKLAHOMA CITY—Kristen A. Clevenger and Jana R. McGregor
  • TALOGA—Dustin Bennett
  • WEATHERFORD—Sharon Mahan