SWOSU Students Win Honors at National MLT Convention

SWOSU Sayre Medical Lab Tech Students
SWOSU-Sayre students (from left) Trevor Kuczajda of Cordell, Khang Le of Weatherford and Michelle Culver of Elk City recently won honors at the American Medical Technologists national convention in Florida. Not pictured is Hallie Keahey of Elk City.

Four Southwestern Oklahoma State University medical laboratory technology students on the Sayre campus recently won awards at the American Medical Technologists national convention in Florida.

Two SWOSU-Sayre students—Hallie Keahey and Michelle Culver, both of Elk City—were chosen to attend as the top sophomore medical technology students. Culver was chosen as the AMT National MLT Student of the Year. 

Freshmen attending were Trevor Kuczajda of Cordell and Khang Le of Weatherford.  Both students received writing awards for their student papers.  Kuczajda's third place paper was entitled Genetic Therapy and the Future of HIV.  Le's second place paper discussed non-insulin dependent diabetes mellitus.  

Accompanying the students on the trip was SWOSU MLT Program Director Roxanna Clifton. The group stayed on the Disney property at the Swan Hotel. During the convention, the students attended scientific sessions related to the medical technology profession, as well as social events, including a trip to Disney World.