SWOSU Jazz Ensemble Concert Set for November 11


Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s Jazz Ensemble “A” will be featured in concert this Sunday, November 11, on the Weatherford campus.

The concert, sponsored by the SWOSU Department of Music, will begin at 3 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center. Admission is free, and the public is invited.

Jazz “A” Ensemble will perform a variety of music including Tickletoe by Lester Young; The Phat Pack by Gordon Goodwin; Stella by Starlight by Washington-Young; Madelyn’s Song by Matt Harris; In a Sentimental Mood by Duke Ellington; How High the Moon by Hamilton-Lewis; New Mambo by Bob Mintzer; That’s What I Thought by Paul McKee; Let the Good Times Roll by Theard-Moore; Bonehead by Lennie Niehaus; Engine No. 9 by Les Hooper , and Take the “A” Train by Billy Strayhorn.

Members of the Jazz Ensemble “A” are: saxophones—Adriel Reynolds, Lawton; Barrett Hamm, Okmulgee; Michael DePew, Mustang; Josh Dodson, Perryton, TX,; and Misty Schumann, Midwest City.  Trumpets—Keith Medders, Grove; Travis Henson, Yukon; Ann Gammenthaler, Broken Arrow; Lane Fold, Duncan; and Drey Hawkins, Mountain View.  Trombones—Nathan Rapson, Del City; Sean Wright, Moore; Christopher Hall, Enid; and Braden Boily, Enid.  Rhythm Section:  Garrett Rodriguez, Stinnett, TX (guitar); Mark Smithey, Alva (bass); Stephen Myers, Yukon (drums); Erich Spaeth, Harrah (percussion); and Ja’Nell Huff, Enid (piano).

The Jazz Ensemble “A” is directed by Dr. Keith Talley.