Advisory Board Formed for the School of Business & Technology


Several individuals are serving on the newly appointed advisory board for the Southwestern Oklahoma State University School of Business and Technology. Among those attending a recent meeting on the Weatherford campus are (front from left): Judy Wilkes and Ryan Klein, both of Oklahoma City. Back from left-Doug Schones, Elk City; Senator Tom Ivestor, Sayre; Max Pyron, Weatherford; and Dan Randall, Enid.

The newly appointed advisory board for the Southwestern Oklahoma State University School of Business and Technology recently met on the Weatherford campus.

SWOSU President John Hays opened the meeting with a welcome and brief statements about recent and upcoming changes within the school.

One topic of discussion included the mission and goals of the new advisory board.  Dr. Larry McKee, associate dean of the school, said the mission of the board is to provide external support and input to the academic business unit from the perspective of practitioners in business and industry. The board will meet regularly to help evaluate and ensure the relevancy of the business programs. 

Other issues discussed throughout the meeting were the evaluation of recent changes within the School of Business and Technology, including the adoption of the Technology Department into the school and the change from a program in General Business to one in Entrepreneurship. Departmental chairs also gave brief overviews of their department and updated the board on the progress being made of recent revisions to several of the degree programs in the school.  

Members of the advisory board that attended the meeting included: Tom Ivestor, state senator for District #26; Dan Randall, a CPA with Baird, Kurtz & Dobson in Enid; Doug Schones, owner of Dyna-Turn in Elk City; Max Pyron, former manager at Bar-S Foods; Ryan Klein with Chesapeake Energy in Oklahoma City; Judy Wilkes, chief financial officer of Arrow Industries in Oklahoma City; and Dr. Marvin Hankins, director of the SWOSU Center for Economic and Business Development.   

Other board members include Randy Beutler, assistant to the president for strategic operations at SWOSU; Nancy Hinz, Hinz Auctioneering; Greg Jones, CPA; Lori Peters, vice president of public policy with Oklahoma Farm Bureau; and Tim Sinor, president of Freightliner Specialty Vehicles, Inc.

The next meeting of the board is scheduled for this April.