SWOSU Orchestra Concert Planned for February 26


Southwestern Oklahoma State University Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Dr. Robert Chambers, will be in concert this Tuesday, February 26, at 8:15 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center on the Weatherford campus.

Admission is free, and the public is invited.

The concert will feature the following selections: Over the Rainbow arranged by Cerulli; Once Upon A Dream from “Sleeping Beauty” arranged by Rogers, accompanied with the Southwestern Strings and the Southwest Youth Orchestra, conducted by JoAnne Rogers; Overture to Don Giovanni by Mozart; Alleluja from “Exultate Jubilate” by Mozart, featuring Joyce Adams Curtis, SWOSU music faculty, soprano soloist; Overture to Swan Lake by Tschaikowsky; and Jupiter from “The Planets”  by Holst. 

Orchestra members are: Violin: Sara Abernathy, Oklahoma City; Shannon Aldredge, Oklahoma City;  Nick Bessinger, Weatherford; Sarah Carlock, Tulsa; David DeLoera, Bethany; Kathryn Dorton, Enid; Jaymes Kirksey, Spencer; Joanna Mach, Ft. Smith, AR; Crystal Mars, Oklahoma City; Melissa McSpadden, Weatherford; Lindsey Preston, Oklahoma City; David Robillard, Oklahoma City; Alexa Schlickbernd, Blanchard; and Lona Scott, Weatherford. Viola:  Ashton Rose, Wichita Falls, TX; Kimberly Stewart, Bartlesville; and  Joyce Teghtmeyer, Weatherford. Cello: Pam Yost Almack, Ponca City;  Kathy Dobrinski, Weatherford; Michaela Logan, Ponca City; and Garrett Rodriguez, Stinnett, TX. Bass: David Burkhart, Midwest City; JoAnne Rogers, Weatherford; and Erich Spaeth, Harrah. Flute:  Mollie Baker, Canadian, TX; Megan Blevins, Bartlesville; Amanda Desadier, Walters; and Kayla McLaughlin, Clinton.  Oboe: Michael DePew, Mustang. Bassoon:  Sarah Stevens, Owasso. Clarinet:  Kayti Arney, Amarillo; Katy Gaither, Norman; and Michael Schoonover, Anadarko. Horn: James Edwards, Plainview, TX; Daniel Moran, Altus; Thomas Rady, Altus; and Janis South, Weatherford.  Trumpet: Steven Conner, Alva; Aaron Daniels, Altus; Daisy Edwards, Plainview, TX; and Nicholas Lindley, Cordell. Trombone: Braden Boily, Enid; T.J. Cortes, Hobart; Christopher Hall, Enid; and Nathan Rapson, Del City. Tuba: Greg Garrison, Sayre. Percussion: Andrew Hatch, Owasso; Enid Hennen, Tecumseh; Jason Johnston, Oklahoma City; and John Scarritt, El Reno. 

Members of the Southwest Youth Orchestra, conducted by JoAnne Rogers with  Kathy Dobrinski, are: Chaslea Frantz, Weatherford; Baylee Lakey, Sayre; and Belinda Lee, Weatherford.