SWOSU Orchestra Plans April 22 Concert


The Southwestern Oklahoma State University Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Dr. Robert Chambers, will be in concert on Tuesday, April 22, at 8:15 p.m. on the Weatherford campus.

The concert will be in the Fine Arts Center lobby. Admission is free, and the public is invited.

The concert will feature the following selections. Alma Mater arranged by SWOSU and Tidwell; Classical Bash arranged by Dillon and Kjelland; and Our Town arranged by Copland. Both Classical Bash and Our Town will be accompanied with the Southwestern Strings and the Southwest Youth Orchestra, conducted by JoAnne Rogers.

 Other selections on the program will include Symphony No. 103, “Drum Roll”  by Haydn; Flute Concerto in G Major by Mozart, featuring Mollie Baker, soloist; Der Freischutz Overture  by von Weber; and Mars and Jupiter from “The Planets”  by Holst. 

SWOSU orchestra members are as follows: Violin—Sara Abernathy, Oklahoma City; Shannon Aldredge, Oklahoma City; Nick Bessinger, Weatherford; Sarah Carlock, Tulsa; David DeLoera, Bethany; Kathryn Dorton, Enid; Jaymes Kirksey, Spencer; Joanna Mach, Ft. Smith, AR; Crystal Mars, Oklahoma City; Melissa McSpadden, Weatherford; Jennifer Mingus, Caddo; Lindsey Preston, Oklahoma City; David Robillard, Oklahoma City; Alexa Schlickbernd, Blanchard; and Lona Scott, Weatherford. Viola—Ashton Rose, Wichita Falls, TX; Kimberly Stewart, Bartlesville; and Joyce Teghtmeyer, Weatherford. Cello—Pam Yost Almack, Ponca City;  Kathy Dobrinski, Weatherford; Michaela Logan, Ponca City; and Garrett Rodriguez, Stinnett, TX. Bass—David Burkhart, Midwest City; JoAnne Rogers, Weatherford; and Erich Spaeth, Harrah.

Also, Flute—Mollie Baker, Canadian, TX; Megan Blevins, Bartlesville; Amanda Desadier, Walters; and Kayla McLaughlin, Clinton. Oboe—Michael DePew, Mustang.  Bassoon—Sarah Stevens, Owasso. Clarinet--Kayti Arney, Amarillo; Katy Gaither, Norman; and Michael Schoonover, Anadarko. Horn—James Edwards, Plainview, TX; Daniel Moran, Altus; Thomas Rady, Altus; and Janis South, Weatherford. Trumpet-- Steven Conner, Alva; Aaron Daniels, Altus; Daisy Edwards, Plainview, TX; and Nicholas Lindley, Cordell.  Trombone—Braden Boily, Enid; T.J. Cortes, Hobart; Christopher Hall, Enid; and Nathan Rapson, Del City. Tuba—Greg Garrison, Sayre. Percussion—Andrew Hatch, Owasso; Enid Hennen, Tecumseh; Jason Johnston, Oklahoma City; and John Scarritt, El Reno. 

Members of the Southwest Youth Orchestra, all students of Rogers,  Kathy Dobrinski and Melissa McSpadden, are: Chaslea Frantz, Weatherford; Baylee Lakey, Sayre; Belinda Lee, Weatherford; Stephanie Wingard, Weatherford; Macee Hammack, Leedey; Jonna Vanderslice-Malone, Weatherford; Katie Trail, Weatherford; Sara Fast, Weatherford; Jessica Penner, Cordell; and Taylor Smith, Cordell.