SWOSU Wind Ensemble to Premiere New Composition This Sunday


Southwestern Oklahoma State University Wind Ensemble will perform in concert this Sunday, April 27, on the Weatherford campus.

The concert begins at 3 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center Auditorium. Admission is free, and the public is invited

The concert will include the world premiere of “The Music Is In Me” by SWOSU senior and composer Adriel Reynolds from Lawton.  The concert will be conducted by SWOSU Director of Bands James South.

“The first performance of a new work is always an exciting time” South said.  “The students are excited about the prospect of performing a brand new piece, especially one composed here at SWOSU.”  

The piece is in three movements, and musically describes the feelings that Reynolds experienced when he realized that making and teaching music was his destiny.

The concert will also include “Requiem Excerpts” by Giuseppe Verdi; “Morning Star” by David Maslanka; “Symphony for Brass and Percussion,” by Gunther Schuller; “Blessed Are They” from A German Requiem by Johannes Brahms; “Scotch Strathspey and Reel” by Percy Grainger; and “Rolling Thunder” by Henry Fillmore.

The Wind Ensemble is the top band at SWOSU and has a long tradition of excellence in performance.  The band has performed by invitation four times in the past nine years at the Oklahoma Music Educators Association convention in Tulsa. 

Ensemble members include:  Flute: Mollie Baker, Canadian, TX; Megan Blevins Bartlesville; Kimberly Butler, Duncan; and Amanda Desadier, Walters. Oboe: Michael DePew, Mustang; and Megan Lee, Enid. Clarinet:  Diana Flood, Altus;  Katy Gaither, Norman; Rayanna Hosokawa, Azle, TX; Erin Hanson, Chickasha; Luis Pantoja, Altus; Misty Schumann, Midwest City; and Haleigh Wood, Purcell.  Bass Clarinet: Ingrid Simmons, Weatherford. Contra-Alto Clarinet: Teri Gorshing, Weatherford.  Bassoon:  David Burkhart, Midwest City; and Sarah Stevens, Owasso. Saxophones:  Thomas Burns, Altus; Adriel Reynolds, Lawton; Josh Dodson, Perryton, TX; and Amy Schmidt, Bartlesville. 

Also, Horn: James Edwards, Plainview, TX; Daniel Moran, Altus; Tom Rady, Altus; and Janis South, SWOSU faculty. Trumpet: Aaron Daniels, Altus; Daisy Garcia, Plainview, TX; Drey Hawkins, Mountain View; Travis Henson, Yukon; Ann Gammenthaler, Broken Arrow; and Keith Medders, Grove. Trombone: Braden Boily, Enid; Chris Hall, Enid; Nathan Rapson, Del City; and Sean Wright, Oklahoma City.  Euphonium:  Josh Buxton, Hinton; Greg Garrison, Sayre; and Paul Merkey, Hobart. Tuba: Lane Folds, Duncan; Tim Martin, Woodward; and Daniel Soto, Lawton. Percussion: Jonathan Anzaldua,Tulia, TX; Andrew Hatch, Owasso; Enid Hennen, Tecumseh; Jason Johnston, Oklahoma City; John Scarritt, El Reno; and Erich Spaeth, Harrah.  SWOSU Department of Music Chair Dr. Terry Segress will assist on piano.