Nye and Al-Jarrah Active at OCTE


Nye and Al-Jarrah
Dr. Jerry Nye and Susan Al-Jarrah

Two individuals with Southwestern Oklahoma State University ties were involved with the recent spring conference of the Oklahoma Council of Teachers of English, Dr. Jerry Nye, professor emeritus at SWOSU, presented the Geraldine Burns Awards for Excellence in English studies to future teachers from various universities across the State of Oklahoma. Nye created the award in 1988 to honor Fairview teacher Geraldine Burns who had served on the OCTE Board with Dr. Nye for several years. This year’s event marked the 30th anniversary of Dr. Nye's tenure as president of OCTE.  Also, Susan Al-Jarrah, instructor of Language and Literature at SWOSU and a current OCTE board member, received an honorary lifetime membership in OCTE at the same conference.