Teachers Attend SMART Program at SWOSU


Twenty-nine teachers from the western half of Oklahoma participated in a Science and Mathematics Association of Rural Teachers (SMART) program at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford.

As part of the year-long program directed by SWOSU’s Dr. Brian Campbell, the teachers spent nearly one month from June 23 to July 18 on the SWOSU campus getting direct, hands-on training in science, mathematics and technology and their applications in PreK-12 education.

The teachers will also attend various sessions during the 2008-09 academic year.

Campbell said the sustainable learning community served to alleviate the relative isolation of teachers in rural Oklahoma classrooms and provided rich supplemental learning experiences in areas where formal and informal resources are sparse or school budgets are prohibitive.

Each teacher was in a small group and moved through the content stations of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computer science, geology, mathematics, physics, and the nature of science.

The program is made possible by the Oklahoma Department of Education. Eighteen school districts and educational organizations participated in the program.

Participating teachers were: ALINE-CLEO—Becky Berbermeyer and Jami Birchfield; AMBER POCASSET—Amy Bymaster; CLINTON—Sha Carpenter, Jaclyn Helt and Joe Ray; EL RENO—Joy Baker, Lorene Deffenbaugh, Trisha Havener, Lee Hughes, Debra Steffler and Terri Willey; ERICK—Jamey Campbell and LaCinda Miller; FAIRVIEW—Sue Hull; FREDERICK—Kimlan Lee; GEARY—Dee McKenna; HYDRO—Cynthia Moen; MANGUM—Paula Banister and Sherri Toole; MUSTANG—Leia Wheeler; ROCKY—Ashly Griffith; SEILING—Dawn Everett; THACKERVILLE—Janrie Blankenship; THOMAS—Matthew Thiessen; WATONGA—Maryl McCrary; WEATHERFORD—Kelly Metscher and Valerie Shreck; and YUKON—Christopher Simon.