SWOSU-Sayre Elects Student Government Association Officers


Students at Southwestern Oklahoma State University at Sayre recently elected seven Student Government Association officers for the 2008-09 academic year.

Candise Warren of Elk City was elected president, and Shannon Eslinger, also of Elk City, is the new vice president.  Chase Cook of Elk City will serve as secretary, and Jina Brown of Canute will serve as treasurer.

Matthew Wilson of Elk City was elected sophomore representative.  Two freshmen representatives were elected—Cindel Fish of Sayre and MaRena Caswell of Hollis.

“We’re excited about the new group of SGA officers,” said Student Government Association sponsor Ron Kistler.  “The candidates showed a lot of enthusiasm during the campaign season, and I’m confident that they will serve their constituents—the SWOSU-Sayre students—with equal enthusiasm.”

In addition to campus governance, Student Government Association officers work closely with students to choose on-campus events for students to enjoy each semester.

SWOSU-Sayre students with at least a 2.0 grade point average are qualified to run for SGA office.  Students must be sophomores to run for president.