Franklin Receives First-Ever Tarrant Scholarship


Tarrant Scholarship
Vanessa Franklin (second from left) of Lookeba-Sickles has been awarded the first-ever Wilma Tarrant Education Scholarship at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford. Tarrant was a long-time teacher in the Hinton Public School system. Pictured with Franklin are (from left): Ruth Boyd, interim chair, SWOSU Education Department; and Cathie Massey of Lookeba and Connie Beutler of Elk City, both daughters of Tarrant.

Vanessa Franklin, a junior elementary education major at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford, was recently awarded the Wilma Tarrant Education Scholarship.

Franklin is a graduate of Lookeba-Sickles High School and will be doing her student teaching assignment during the current spring semester at SWOSU. 

The scholarship is named after the late Wilma Tarrant of Hinton.  Tarrant was a 3rd grade teacher at Hinton for 38 years before retiring in 1979.  She received both her bachelor's and master's degrees from SWOSU.  She was married to Charles Tarrant, who worked several years for the Soil Conservation district.  Both were very active in church and community affairs in Hinton.

Franklin is the first-ever recipient of the Wilma Tarrant Education Scholarship.