SWOSU Students Selected as OLs


Thirty-four Southwestern Oklahoma State University students were recently selected to serve as orientation leaders (OLs) on the Weatherford campus.

As OLs, the students will serve as mentors in this fall's eight-week freshman orientation courses taught by SWOSU faculty, administration and staff.  The students are already involved and responsible for a large part of the orientation session for incoming freshmen.  The students will also help facilitate Dawg Day activities held during the first few weeks of the fall semester.

The orientation leaders were selected through a competitive application and interview process. 

The students are enrolled in a two-hour leadership course this spring taught by New Student Orientation Coordinator Shelby Adams and NSO staff member Jena Skarda.

The OLs are: Elizabeth Austin, Borger, Texas; Rozlyn Austin, Bonham, TX; Daniel Ballard, Rush Springs (Chickasha HS); Aaron Bark and Heather Hoock, both from Oklahoma City (Putnam City North); Erica Benda, Union City; Ryan Brewer, Choctaw; Kathleen Crook, Okeene; Myka Davis, Lookeba; Shanna Deevers, Weatherford; Eric Evenson, Sayre; Paisley Ford, Oklahoma City (Putnam City HS); Bobby Gantt, Fletcher; Meghan Haftman, Edmond (Edmond Memorial HS); Elizabeth Handke, Tuttle (Community Christian HS); Allison Helm, Geary; Natalie Hopper, Mustang; Ryan Kendrick, Lawton (Eisenhower HS); Zak Key, Vici; Lynsi Mason, Edmond (Madill HS); Tina Murray, Inola (Tulsa East Central HS); Hannah Pemberton, Amarillo, TX (Tascosa HS); Leah Radke, Woodward; Cassiday Rikli, Enid (Drummond HS); Cailyn Russell, Hulbert, (Tahlequah HS); LaKesha Seals, Tulsa (Tulsa Edison HS); Alex Sherry, Holdenville; Candace Sutton, Hinton; Brenda Valencia and J.J. Witt, both from Guymon; Kayla Wallis, Chickasha; Ariel Werchan, Shawnee; Raelyn Williams, Bridge Creek;  and Christopher Wynn, Duncan (Marlow HS).

The NSO program offers additional leadership roles to selected students through the Advisory Board.  In addition to fulfilling the duties of an orientation leader, members of the Advisory Board meet weekly and play a greater role in planning orientation and training sessions. The members serve as liaisons between the OLs and NSO staff. The members of the Advisory Board are Elizabeth Austin (Student Orientation Session), Natalie Hopper (Family Orientation Session) and Allison Helm (Committees Chair).

The first NSO orientation session for incoming freshmen is March 12. Students must first apply and be accepted to SWOSU before they can attend an orientation session. Each of the orientation sessions offers students the chance to meet current SWOSU students and new freshmen, visit and enroll with a faculty advisor within the major they have selected, and have all their questions answered. They can also take campus and residence hall tours.

For more information, visit www.swosu.edu/admissions/nso or contact New Student Orientation at 580.774.3233 or orientation@swosu.edu.

Additional NSO orientation sessions are April 3 and 21, June 10, July 20 and August 14.