Nominations Sought for SWOSU Brandy Awards


Southwestern Oklahoma State University's Brandy Awards honor the faculty, administrator and staff members of the year as chosen by SWOSU students who will vote April 7-8 on Desire to Learn.

Students are invited to nominate their favorite people by April 1.

"Students are always talking about how ‘this teacher saved my life today,' or ‘I wouldn't be here without Dr. So & So.' Because of that, the Collegiate Activities Board hosts the Brandy Awards, to honor those people on campus who make a difference," said James Libby, CAB events chairman.

Nominations should include the name of the nominee (all SWOSU employees are eligible for nomination) and a paragraph about why that person is deserving of the award. Nomination forms and a drop box are available in the Dean of Students Office, Stafford 214. 

Students can also email their nomination to the Collegiate Activities Board at or to Dean Cindy Dougherty at  All nominations are due by April 1.  Nominations may be anonymous.

All three winners receive a traveling Brandy Award plus an engraved pen set. The winners will be announced during "Staff.Administrators.Faculty Appreciation Week" that is April 13-17 as part of a week of activities designed to say "thanks to the great employees at SWOSU, according to Libby.

Last year's winners were Brian Adler, administrator; Dr. Les Crall, faculty; and Josh Collins, staff.