SWOSU Model UN Class Wins Outstanding Delegation Award


SWOSU Model United Nations class won the Outstanding Delegation Award at the 49th Midwest Model United Nations (MMUN) Conference held recently in St. Louis, Mo.

The SWOSU delegation represented the country of Uruguay in South America.

The SWOSU delegation started class the first week of September 2008 and prepared for the conference by researching foreign policies of Uruguay, learning parliamentary procedures, practicing debate, and hosting the SWOSU Model United Nations for high school and junior high schools.

 Members of the delegation included Abdul-Rahman Aljarraha; Susie Awopeju; Alyssa Chapman; Jean Herrera; Whitney Lee; Lauren Myers; Hung Viet Nguyen; Ryan Patterson; Dipesh Pokhrel; Maribel Ramirez; Sulav Regmi; Christian Scott; and Courtni Tapper. The faculty advisor was Ambassador Kenneth Tillett.

At the conference, Ambassador Tillett was elected by the faculty to the Board of Directors for a three-year term.

Recruitment for next year's Model United Nations class is in progress. Applications are available at Ambassador Tillett's office in Room 101-C of the Old Science Building.