Foust and Rogers Win SWOSU Student Elections


Angela Foust of Oologah and Tyler Rogers of Yukon are the new student body president and vice president, respectively, at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford.

The two were elected during student government elections held April 7-8 on the SWOSU campus.

Foust and Rogers defeated the team of Britnee Goure and Caitlin Harwell in a very close race. The Foust-Rogers team won by only four votes.

Running unopposed for treasurer of the SWOSU Student Government Association was Allyson Walton of Fairview. 

In other voting matters, the bill that students voted on to have a tobacco-free campus passed by a vote of 407-241. The bill will now be forwarded to the SWOSU administration for consideration.

SWOSU students will go to the online polls once again on April 20-24. Students will decide whether or not they would like to raise student activities fees by $6 to support athletics, the music department and student organizations.