SWOSU Jazz Ensembles Perform Sunday with Guest Soloist


Southwestern Oklahoma State University's Jazz Ensembles "A" and "B" will present a free concert of jazz music this Sunday, April 19, at 3 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center Auditorium on the Weatherford campus.

Guest artist will be Dr. Heath Jones, tenor saxophone, who serves as associate professor of music at Oklahoma Christian University where he directs the jazz ensemble, sweat band (basketball band), teaches saxophone, jazz improvisation, music technology and music education methods courses. Jones has performed on saxophone with the Oklahoma City Philharmonic, Lesley Gore, Frankie Avalon, Jim Nabors, The Temptations, The Four Tops, Wayne Newton, and various other road show acts.

The concert will feature big band charts made famous by the Count Basie Band, Clayton-Hamilton Jazz Orchestra, Gordon Goodwin Big Fat Band, Stan Kenton Big Band, Tom Kubis Big Band, Cannonball Adderley Quintet and many others.

Music numbers from the Jazz Ensemble "A", directed by Dr. Keith Talley, will include Quintessence, Lover Man, Samba del Gringo, The Jody Grind, On Purple Porpoise Parkway, Amoroso, Moanin' and I Remember Clifford. Selections from Jazz Ensemble "B", directed by Dr. Terry Segress, will include Federal Blues Express by Mark Taylor, Green Onions arranged by Sammy Nestico and Steppin' Up by Eric Richards.

SWOSU students featured in the Jazz Ensemble "A" performance are: Adriel Reynolds, Lawton; Thomas Burns, Altus; Josh Dodson, Perryton, TX; Aryn Hamilton, Weatherford; Misty Schumann, Del City; Sean Wright, Moore; Josh Lawson, Colorado Springs, CO; Chris Hunter, Lawton; Braden Boily, Enid; Nicholas Lindley, Cordell; Elisa Endres, Gainesville, TX; Aaron Daniels, Altus, Cody McCaskill, Washington; Tyler Paul, White Deer, TX; Mark Smithey, Alva; Daniel Moran, Altus; and William Morse, Sterling.

SWOSU students of the Jazz "B" Ensemble are:  saxophones-Barrett Hamm, Okmulgee; Ingrid Simmons, Weatherford; and Amanda Desadier, Walters. Trumpets-Elisa Endres, Gainesville, TX; Ethan Edgar, Clinton; and Josh Atkins, Frederick. Trombone-Josh Lawson, Colorado Springs, CO; Mark Smithey, Alva; and Kurtis Eckhardt, Cherokee.  Rhythm Section-Sean Wright, piano, Oklahoma City; Josh Cabaniss, bass, Clinton; and Tyler Paul, drums, White Deer, TX.

For more information, please contact the SWOSU Music Office at 580.774.3708 or email keith.talley@swosu.edu.