SWOSU Wind Ensemble to Play April 24


The SWOSU Wind Ensemble, the university's premiere concert band, will perform a concert this Friday, April 24, at 7 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center Auditorium on the Weatherford campus.

Admission is free, and the public is invited.

The Wind Ensemble is selected by auditions each fall.  The band has been chosen four times since 1999 to perform at the Oklahoma Music Educators Convention in Tulsa, and just completed a 2009 spring tour to Deer Creek, Piedmont and Blanchard High Schools.  Small groups of Wind Ensemble members have performed service-learning projects throughout the Weatherford community over the spring semester, including performances at schools, nursing homes and community events.

The band is conducted by Dr. James South, professor and chair of the Department of Music at SWOSU. 

"This concert will be very enjoyable to attend, with a great mix of light and heavy selections," said South.

The concert will include Suite of old American Dances by the American composer Robert Russell Bennett; "Finale" from Symphony No. 5 by Soviet composer Dmitri Shostakovich; "Nimrod" from Enigma Variations by the English Romantic composer Edward Elgar; Gum-Sucker's March and Colonial Song by Australian-American composer Percy Grainger; Riverdance by Bill Whelan; and El Capitan by America's "March King" John Philip Sousa.  Included in the concert will be a remembrance of the late Dr. James Breckenridge, professor of music at SWOSU from 1968-2009.

Members of the woodwind section include: Amanda Desadier, Walters; Chrissy Hagood, Mountain View; Megan Blevins, Bartlesville; Christina Colston, Oklahoma City; and Kimberly Butler, Duncan-Flute; Michael Depew, Mustang-Oboe; Haleigh Wood, Purcell; Luis Pantoja, Altus;  Ben Patterson, Coweta;  Erin Hanson, Chickasha; Misty Schumann, Midwest City; and Rayanna Hosokawa, Azle TX-Clarinet; Kristen Whaley, Collinsville; and Ingrid Simmons, Weatherford-Bass Clarinet; Lauren Turner, Elk City-Contra Alto Clarinet; Adriel Reynolds, Lawton; and Josh Dodson, Perryton TX-Alto Saxophone;  Thomas Burns, Altus-Tenor Saxophone; and Aryn Hamilton, Weatherford-Baritone Saxophone.

Brass players include: James Edwards, Plainview TX; Wendy Slater, Miami; Tom Rady, Altus;  Tara Berland, Emporia KS; and Alex Sherry, Holdenville-Horn; Nicholas Lindley, Cordell; Ann Gammenthaler, Broken Arrow; Aaron Daniels, Altus; Elisa Endres, Gainesville TX; and Daisy Edwards, Plainview TX-Trumpet; Braden Boily, Enid; Joshua Lawson, Colorado Springs CO; and Josh Buxton, Hinton-Trombone; Sean Ivins, Moore; and Chris Hunter, Lawton-Euphonium; Daniel Soto, Lawton; and Joe McKee, Oil City-Tuba.

Percussionists are Andrew Hatch, Owasso; Enid Hennen, Tecumseh; Erich Spaeth, Harrah; Jonathan Anzaldua, Tulia TX; and Tyler Paul, White Deer TX.