Teachers Attend Month-Long SMART Program at SWOSU


Thirty teachers from the western half of Oklahoma have been participating in a Science and Mathematics Association of Rural Teachers (SMART) program at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford.

As part of the year-long program directed by SWOSU's Dr. Brian Campbell, the teachers spent nearly one month from June 15 to July 10 on the SWOSU campus getting direct, hands-on training in science, mathematics and technology and their applications in PreK-12 education.

The teachers will also attend various sessions during the 2009-10 academic year. 

Campbell said this sustainable learning community served to alleviate the relative isolation of teachers in rural Oklahoma classrooms and provided rich supplemental learning experiences in areas where formal and informal resources are sparse or school budgets are prohibitive.

The program is made possible by the Oklahoma Department of Education.

Nineteen school districts and educational organizations participated in the program.

Participating teachers were: AMBER-POCASSET-Amy Loggins and Terri Moorman; ARNETT-Dickey Kauk; CLINTON-Lorene Deffenbaugh, Marie Pool and Joe Ray; CORDELL-Amy Boecker and Debi Merkey; CORN-Mark Theissen; ERICK-Jamey Campbell and LaCinda Miller; FAIRVIEW- Sue Hull; HYDRO- EAKLY-Jeremy Bussey and Teri Kimble; MANGUM-Sheri Toole; THOMAS-Matthew Theissen; THACKERVILLE-Janrie Blankenship and Shawna McGehee; TIPTON-Jaclyn Patterson; WEATHERFORD-Leslie Hunter and Sharon Mahan.