SWOSU Faculty Receive Research and Equipment Grants


SWOSU faculty and students
A Southwestern Oklahoma State University faculty member and two students recently received a Research Opportunity award from the Oklahoma IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) grant. The SWOSU contingent will work with a group from the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center. Pictured are (from left): OU Assistant Professor Dr. Bing Zhang, student Chelsea Springer, SWOSU student Melanie Graham, SWOSU Assistant Professor Dr. Andrea Holgado, SWOSU student Ariana Eakle, student Leah Henry, postdoc Philip Vanlandingham, senior research scientist Hong Boa, student Tyler Gunter and student John Tauber.

SWOSU Faculty
SWOSU faculty were recently awarded an equipment grant of $35,000 to purchase a fluorescent microscope. The grant was from the Oklahoma IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence. The microscope will be used for biomedical research and teaching at SWOSU. Pictured are (from left): SWOSU Vice President Dr. Blake Sonobe and SWOSU Faculty Dr. Arden Aspedon (Allied Health), Dr. Muatasem Ubeidat (Biology), Dr. Andrea Holgado (Biology), and Dr. Peter Grant (Biology).

Southwestern Oklahoma State University and Dr. Andrea Holgado, assistant professor in the SWOSU Department of Biological Sciences, were recently awarded an Oklahoma State Regents of Higher Education (OSRHE) grant for basic research in the amount of $25,000. 

Dr. Holgado's project titled "Molecular Analysis of Vesicle Exocytosis" will, in part, support biomedical research involving undergraduate students at SWOSU.  Under the direction of Holgado, students will investigate the molecular mechanism underlying vesicle-mediated secretion in neurons.  Research of this type may reveal target molecules and strategies for the treatment of neurological disorders such as Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease.

In addition to the OSRHE grant, Dr. Holgado has received a Research Opportunity Award (ROA) from the Oklahoma IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) grant.  The INBRE grant is funded by the National Institutes of Health and dispersed through the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center.  The ROA will provide funding to support Dr. Holgado's summer 2009 research project in the laboratory of Dr. Bing Zhang, assistant professor at the University of Oklahoma in Norman.  Two SWOSU biology students, Melanie Graham and Ariana Eakle, also received funding from INBRE and the National Science Foundation to assist Dr. Holgado in this summer research project. Eakle was supported by an NSF REU grant.

In a collaborative effort, SWOSU faculty were also awarded a $35,000 INBRE Equipment Grant to purchase a fluorescent microscope.  Dr. Holgado, Dr. Jimena Aracena and Dr. Muatasem Ubeidat (Department of Biology) and Dr. Arden Aspedon (Allied Health) will use the microscope for biomedical research and teaching at SWOSU.