Twenty-Two High School and Junior High Bands to Play at SWOSU Jazz Festival


Twenty-two high school and junior high jazz bands will compete in the Southwestern Oklahoma State University Jazz Band Contest this Friday, February 12, as part of SWOSU Jazz Festival activities on the Weatherford campus.

The 40th annual SWOSU Jazz Festival will feature concerts at 1 and 8 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center on the SWOSU campus. Tickets are $12.50 for general admission and $4 for students and are on sale at the SWOSU Music Office, Room 100, in the Fine Arts Center on the SWOSU campus.

The SWOSU Jazz Festival will feature Byron Stripling on trumpet and vocals as well as Bobby Floyd in piano and organ; Larry Cook, bass; and Rich Thompson, drums.

Several clinics, which are open to the public and free of charge, will be held by the visiting artists in Room 101 of the Berrong Music Hall on Friday at 10 a.m., 2:30 p.m. and 3:30 p.m.  A 7 p.m. concert by the SWOSU Alumni Jazz Band will be held in the Fine Arts Center. More information is available by contacting the SWOSU Music Department.                         

The SWOSU Jazz Festival is presented by the SWOSU Department of Music with the assistance of the Oklahoma Arts Council and the National Endowment for the Arts. For additional information contact the SWOSU Music Office at 580.774.3708.

The lineup of bands for the SWOSU Jazz Band Contest is:

SWOSU Fine Arts Auditorium

8:00 AM Verdigris Combo Dustin Brown 3A-Combo
8:30 AM Verdigris Combo Dustin Brown 3A-E
9:00 AM Verdigris Combo Euell Hanna 3A
9:30 AM Duncan High School Jeramy Haas 5A
10:00 AM Enid High School David Toelle/Eric Pennello 6A-EE
10:30 AM Del City High School Floyd Haynes 6A
11:00 AM Midwest City High School Mark Henseley 6A
11:30 AM Yukon High School Clint Brown 6A
2:45 PM Liberal KS High School Lance Burnett 5A
3:15 PM Enid High School Eric Pennello 6A-E
3:45 PM Putnam City West High School Edward Hutson 6A
4:15 PM Enid High School Eric Pennello 6A
4:45 PM Mustang High School
Myers/Sharp/Harrison 6A-E
5:15 PM Mustang High School
Bryan Myers 6A

SWOSU Fine Arts Center Room 102

8:15 AM Clinton High School Dr. Terry Segress/Teresa Segress 4A
8:45 AM OK Christian Middle School Michael Brown 8-3A
9:15 AM Del City Junior High Floyd Haynes 9-4A
9:45 AM Emerson Junior High Gayla Heinrichs 9-4A
10:15 AM Mustang Middle School Roger Sharp/Steve Sharp 8-5A
10:45 AM OK Christian High School Michael Brown 3A
11:15 AM Cordell High School Steve Smith 3A
11:45 AM Fort Gibson High School Diania Hopkins 4