SWOSU Students Selected as OLs for New Student Orientation Program


Thirty-four Southwestern Oklahoma State University students were recently selected to serve as orientation leaders (OLs) on the Weatherford campus.

As OLs, the students will serve as mentors in this fall's eight-week freshman orientation courses taught by SWOSU faculty, administration and staff.  The students are already involved and responsible for a large part of the orientation session for incoming freshmen.  The students will also help facilitate Dawg Day activities held during the first few weeks of the fall semester.

The orientation leaders were selected through a competitive application and interview process. 

The students are enrolled in a two-hour leadership course this spring taught by New Student Orientation Coordinator Shelby Adams and NSO staff member Jena Skarda.

The OLs are:


  • ANADARKO-Kylee Sullivan;
  • CHOCTAW-Ryan Brewer;
  • CLINTON-Riley Intemann; Brittany Wynn;
  • CORDELL-Whitney Finch;
  • DOVER-Mica Andrews;
  • DRUMMOND-Cassiday Rikli;
  • EL RENO-Elizabeth Johnson;
  • ENID-Elijah Unruh;
  • GUYMON-Liz Valencia;
  • HINTON-Candace Sutton;
  • HOWE-Bradley Oliver;
  • LAWTON (Eisenhower)-Ryan Kendrick;
  • LOYAL (Lomega)-Summer Stebens;
  • MOORELAND-Kelly Lockhart;
  • MOUNTAIN VIEW-Tammy Hooper;
  • MUSKOGEE-Zak Sellers;
  • OKLAHOMA CITY-(Harding Charter Preparatory)-Erika Haywood; (Putnam City)-Susana Opare; (Putnam City North)-Heather Hoock; (Westmoore)-Chad Phillips; Emilee Walker; Lauren Wilson;
  • PIEDMONT-(Trinity HS TX)-Kadie Davis;
  • SAND SPRINGS-Chelsey McVay;
  • TUTTLE-Raelyn Williams;
  • WASHINGTON-Taylor Hancock;
  • WATONGA-Kaitlyn Cox;
  • WOODWARD-Leah Radke;
  • YUKON (Union City)-Erica Benda.            


  • MIAMI-Rachelle Dougherty.


  • AFRICA- Claudia Nkeih.

The NSO program also offers additional leadership roles to selected students through the advisory board.  In addition to fulfilling the duties of an orientation leader, members of the Advisory Board meet weekly and play a greater role in planning orientation and training sessions. The members serve as liaisons between the OLs and NSO staff. Members of the advisory board are Ryan Brewer, (Student Orientation Session), Heather Hoock (Family Orientation Session) and Leah Radke (Committees Chair).

The first NSO orientation session for incoming freshmen is April 2. Students must first apply and be accepted to SWOSU before they can attend an orientation session. Each of the orientation sessions offers students the chance to meet current SWOSU students and new freshmen, visit and enroll with a faculty advisor within the major they have selected and have all their questions answered. They may also take campus and dorm tours.

For more information, visit www.swosu.edu/admissions/nso or contact New Student Orientation at 580.774.3233 or orientation@swosu.edu. Additional NSO orientation sessions are April 13 and 21, June 14, July 22 and August 13.