Saskatchewan Professor and Oklahoma Native to Speak at SWOSU Physics Banquet


Dr. L. Dean ChapmanDr. L Dean Chapman of the University of Saskatchewan will be guest speaker at this year's 2010 Physics Spring Alumni Banquet scheduled Saturday, April 10, at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford.

The banquet, which is open to the public, will be at 7 p.m. in the Memorial Student Union Ballroom on the SWOSU campus.

Tickets are $15 per person. Advance reservations are necessary for catering needs. Call 580.774.3109 or email by April 7.

Chapman is a 1975 graduate of SWOSU where he earned his B.S. in Physics and Mathematics and was winner of the J.R. Pratt Award for being the outstanding physics student. Chapman grew up in Chester and graduated from Seiling High School.

From SWOSU, Chapman went on to earn a Ph.D. in Physics from Purdue University in 1981.  Chapman spent several years (1982-1995) at the National Synchrotron Light Source at Brookhaven National Laboratory as a beamline scientist first at the X18A, then the X17 materials science beamline, and finally on the synchrotron medical research facility beamline. 

In 1995, Chapman moved to the Illinois Institute of Technology in Chicago to help direct that institution's synchrotron efforts (three beamlines) at the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory.  He and colleagues from Brookhaven National Laboratory developed the diffraction enhanced imaging method, which is now one of the common synchrotron methods for imaging soft tissue.  In 2003, he left for the University of Saskatchewan where he is the scientific lead of the Biomedical Imaging & Therapy (BMIT) project at the Canadian Light Source (CLS). He founded a research group on synchrotron imaging of gene expression, is the Canada Research Chair in X-ray Imaging, and is professor of anatomy and cell biology.

SWOSU Professor Terry Goforth said the evening will be filled with the usual festivities-food, old friends, lots of awards and presentations, and well-deserved praise.