Professor Long Wins Bernhardt Award at SWOSU


Bernhardt Award
Dr. Scott Long (second from left) won the Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award for 2010 at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford. The award for exceptional achievement in teaching, scholarship and service is made possible by Dr. William and Theta Juan Bernhardt (right) of Midwest City. SWOSU President Randy Beutler is also pictured.

Dr. Scott F. Long won the Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award for 2010 during the annual Bernhardt banquet held Thursday night (April 1) at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford.

Long, professor in the SWOSU College of Pharmacy and current chair of the SWOSU Faculty Senate, won the prestigious award at a banquet held in the Memorial Student Center on the SWOSU campus. For winning the award, Long received a $2,500 cash award, Waterford crystal clock and engraved pen set.

SWOSU alumni Dr. William and Theta Juan Bernhardt of Midwest City are sponsors of the annual award that goes to an outstanding faculty member who exhibits exceptional achievement in teaching, scholarship and service. Guest speaker for the evening was SWOSU President Randy Beutler.

Dr. Scott Long is a native of Philadelphia, Mississippi, and came to SWOSU in 1998 when he accepted the appointment of assistant professor of pharmacology and toxicology in the SWOSU College of Pharmacy. He has been selected four times by the College of Pharmacy graduating class as winner of the "Teacher of the Year" Award.

During his career at SWOSU, Long has served the university, community and profession in various capacities.  In addition to holding membership on numerous departmental, college, and university committees, Long serves as the faculty advisor for the local Delta Beta Chapter of Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity. Within the community, he serves as a volunteer pharmacist for the Agape Clinic and also served on the Drug Testing Policy Committee for the Weatherford Public Schools.  At the national level, he has served on various committees for the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, including secretary of the Biological Sciences Section. He has also served on several national-level committees for Kappa Psi and served as the international executive director of the fraternity for eight years with its international headquarters based on the campus of SWOSU.  

Dr. Long has published 24 scientific peer-reviewed papers, six book chapters, 23 book monographs, and has made 17 peer-reviewed presentations at national meetings and 12 presentations at regional meetings.  He has served as a reviewer for seven journal articles or books in pharmacology or pharmacy and has made 19 professional pharmacy presentations over his research or academic specialties.

He received a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy degree from the University of Mississippi in 1984 and practiced three years in the Public Health Service/Indian Health Service as a clinical/staff pharmacist at the Choctaw Health Center.  He then returned to the University of Mississippi and read for the Doctor of Philosophy degree, majoring in pharmacology and toxicology. Long realized there his true calling as a teacher at the collegiate level. 

Upon completing his Ph.D. in 1994, Long accepted an appointment at Duquesne University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He served there until coming to SWOSU.

Previous winners of the Bernhardt Award are (in order by year): Dr. Vilas Prabhu, Dr. Stuart Burchett, Dr. Gary Wolgamott, Dr. Terry Segress, Dr. James Hunsicker, Dr. Jill Jones, Dr. James Breckenridge, Dr. John Ludrick, Dr. W. Steven Pray, Dr. Les Crall, Dr. Peter Grant, Dr. John Hayden, Dr. Virgil Van Dusen, Steve Strickler, Dr. Mary Aspedon and Dr. John Woods.