Winners Announced of SWOSU Alumni and Friends Golf Tournament


Southwestern Oklahoma State University's Alumni Association at Weatherford hosted its 17th annual SWOSU Alumni and Friends Golf Classic on June 26 at Silverhorn Golf Course in Oklahoma City.

Winners in the University Flight were Tony Louthan, Joel Paden and Garret Smith, all of Weatherford; and Doug Kaiser, Edmond.  Finishing second was the team of Bret Matlock, Garrison Mendoza and Louie Mendoza, all of Clinton; and David Balezentis and Bill Kuslieka, both of Tulsa.  Third place winners were Ray Kuykendall, Farmers Branch, Texas; Delbert Mahan, Wichita Falls, Texas; Richard Hasley, Oklahoma City; Charlie Hillis, Las Vegas, N.M.; and Ron Polston, Frisco, Texas.  Fourth place winners were Terry Nichols, Elk City; Dub Cromwell, Bedford, Texas; Don Wilson, Hobart; and Bob Hunnicutt, Coppell, Texas.

In the alumni flight, top winners were Mike Muncy, Oklahoma City; Chad Ramirez, Weatherford; Dale Davis, Marlow; Sy Freeman, Clinton; and Charles Porter, Hutto, Texas.  Finishing second were Everett Baker, Yukon; Steve Baker, Elk City; Jack Roberts, Apache; and Jim Mogg, Hydro. Winning third place were Jason Redd and Roger Redd, both of Elk City; and Billy Joe Kamphaus and Ryan Ommen, both of Weatherford.  Finishing fourth were Kyle Kilhoffer, Jackie Garrett, Pete Stover and Darrel Hood, all of Elk City.

In the blue and white flight, the first place winners were Ed Garrison, Yukon; Gehrig Garrison and Bill Garrison, both of Ardmore; Pat Dunn, Weatherford; and Jerry Blevins, Hot Springs Village, Ark.  Second place winners were Mark Lantz, Broc Helleyman and Jerry Ulrich, all of Clinton. The third place winners were Gaylen Adams, Oklahoma City; Jim Mitschke, Owasso; LeRoy Neeley, Overland Park, Kan.; and Jerry Eden, Elk City. Fourth place winners were Tommy O'Hara, T.D. O'Hara, Richard O'Hara and Chris Shelby, all of Paden. 

Winning teams won $400 for first place, $300 for second, $200 for third and $100 for fourth place.

In the various contests, closest to the pin on hole number 6 was Joel Paden of Weatherford; hole number 8, Mickey Geurkink, Medford; hole 12, Zach Enterline, Tulsa; and hole 14, Dale Davis, Marlow. Longest drive winners on hole 3 and 16 were Garrett Smith of Weatherford and Bill Kuslieka of Tulsa, respectively. Each won $25 gift certificates. 

Many of the 104 golfers in attendance also attended a Friday night reception with guests/spouses. The reception was held in the Oklahoma City Bricktown area.