Clifton Elected National President of AMT and Honored with Prestigious Award

Roxann Clifton 

Roxann Clifton, director/instructor of the Medical Laboratory Technician Program at SWOSU-Sayre, was elected president of the American Medical Technologists during the group's recent national convention, and she also received the Silver Service Award as Medical Technologist of the Year-one of the highest awards conferred upon a member of the AMT.

The nonprofit American Medical Technologists is a professional membership/certification association that represents over 46,000 individuals in allied health care. Established in 1939, AMT provides certification services and programs to allied health professionals to enhance their professional and personal growth. 

Clifton was certified as a medical technologist by the AMT in 1982 after graduating with an associate's degree in health technology from Sayre Junior College.  She went on to complete a BS degree in biology and a MEd with a concentration in biology from SWOSU. 

As a member of the Oklahoma State Society of AMT, she has served as editor, board chair, vice-president and president.  She was elected to the national AMT Board of Directors in 2005.  At the national level she has previously served as secretary and vice president before being elevated to the post of president during this year's annual meeting in Las Vegas (NV).

Clifton has been honored as the Oklahoma State Society Technologist of the Year.  In the 11 years she served as editor of The Sooner Scope, the AMT National level has honored Clifton with 10 editing awards including "Editor of the Year".  Other honors have included Distinguished Achievement Award, Exceptional Merit and Pillar Award.