SWOSU's Baugher Named Program Coordinator for NASA Oklahoma Consortium


NASA Oklahoma Consortium
SWOSU faculty member Madeline Baugher (left) was recently named program coordinator for the NASA Oklahoma Space Grant Consortium (OSGC). Baugher has been very active in support of NASA-related programs and recently helped (from left) Kandi Archer, Lindsay Porter and Connie Lokey obtain internships with the Johnson Space Center. Here the group is pictured in front of Vehicle Assembly Building where space shuttles are assembled.

Madeline Baugher, director of the computer science program at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford, has been appointed program coordinator for the NASA Oklahoma Space Grant Consortium (OSGC).

The appointment was made by Dr. Victoria Duca Snowden, director of OSGC and NASA EPSCoR.

Baugher, a faculty member in the Department of Accounting, Computer Science, and Entrepreneurship at SWOSU, was appointed SWOSU institutional representative to OSGC by Provost Dr. Blake Sonobe in 2007.  In this role, she coordinated the campus NASA scholarships and fellowships and took the programs into the community through OSGC-sponsored internships at the Stafford Air & Space Museum as well as Hudson Technology and Precision Design.

She also developed successful NASA grant awards which benefitted a broad spectrum of participants in different programs, including a robotics course for students within the Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribal College; Brad Bryant's Introduction to Technology course where the students use a weather balloon to launch satellites they have built; the Technology Department's FIRST Tech Challenge event which brought over 300 high school students to Weatherford to participate in a robot competition; and the Physics Department students who are participating in Spectroscopy research under the guidance of Dr. Wayne Trail and Dr. Tony Stein.

Through Baugher's efforts, three SWOSU students were selected by the Johnson Space Center for semester-long internships which is the first step for potential full-time employment with NASA.

"Both SWOSU and the community will continue to benefit tremendously from Baugher's passion for the students and NASA," Snowden said. "But now in her position as project coordinator, all the OSGC affiliates and other universities across the state will benefit as well from her passion."

Baugher will work closely with the lead office at the University of Oklahoma and with Dr. Andrew Arena at Oklahoma State University in the implementation of projects that will connect faculty and students across Oklahoma with NASA centers and research. 

"The ultimate goal is to bring these opportunities into the state that will not only benefit the researchers but will also contribute to the state's economic development in aviation and space related industries," Snowden said.

Established by Congress in 1988 and implemented by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, the National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program (also known as Space Grant) contributes to the nation's Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics enterprise by funding research, education, and public service projects through a national network of 52 university-based Space Grant consortia. These consortia administer programs in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

The consortia's 820 affiliates include 531 academic institutions and 80 businesses. Other partners include state and local government agencies, other federal agencies and nonprofit organizations. SWOSU is an affiliate member of the OSGC whose membership includes eight universities, two academic centers, two informal science museums, two industry and two government organizations across the state.