SWOSU Hosting HLC Team on October 4-6


Southwestern Oklahoma State University's comprehensive evaluation visit from the Higher Learning Commission is coming Monday-Wednesday, October 4-6, on the Weatherford and Sayre campuses.

The HLC is an independent corporation and one of two commission members of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA), which is one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The Higher Learning Commission accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region.

SWOSU's last visit was during the 2000-01 school year and SWOSU was accredited for the maximum 10-year period. A team of seven from the HLC will be at the university reviewing SWOSU's self-study report and visiting with many people on campus. The HLC report is on the President's site of the SWOSU website at http://www.swosu.edu/administration/president/hlc/docs/hlc-selfstudy-report.pdf.

"Many people have been working hard for several years in anticipation of this visit," SWOSU President Randy Beutler said. "We look forward to having the team on both our campus locations."

Dr. Cynthia Foust and Dr. Les Crall have served as co-chairs of the SWOSU self-study steering team. Other committee members are: Lisa Appeddu, Tom Fagan, Peter Grant, Kelley Logan, Patsy Parker, David Ralph and Bill Swartwood.