Ten Astronauts Gather at SWOSU for Celebration


Stafford Celebration
Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford recently had 10 former astronauts on the Weatherford campus as part of General Thomas P. Stafford's 80th birthday celebration. SWOSU President Randy Beutler said it is most likely the largest-ever gathering of Apollo astronauts on a university campus in the United States. The event was a private affair and included the first astronaut who walked on the moon (Neil Armstrong on Apollo 11) and the last (Gene Cernan on Apollo 17). Here, General Stafford (left) shows part of the Stafford Museum to fellow astronauts (from left) Gene Cernan, Jack Lousma, Walt Cunningham and Jim Lovell. Other astronauts who were in attendance but not pictured include Neil Armstrong, Alan Bean, Joe Engle, Fred Haise and Bruce McCandless.