SWOSU Receives Research Mentor Grant


Monte Stone
SWOSU student Monte Stone is among the students who are benefitting from INBRE research mentor grants that allow SWOSU students to work in biomedical research laboratories.   

Southwestern Oklahoma State University and three faculty members are the latest recipients of the INBRE research mentor grants as a collaborating institution with the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center.

The awards come from a biomedical research grant through the Oklahoma IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (OK-INBRE), a grant administered through the National Institutes of Health.

The grant supports an undergraduate research program to provide training and research experiences to undergraduate students. The program allows students first-hand experience working in biomedical research laboratories. The faculty researchers serve as mentors to guide undergraduate students into the exciting world of scientific research.

SWOSU students participating in the program are Kassandra Guthmueller and Erica Benda with mentor Dr. Andrea Holgado in biological sciences; Jonathan Walker and Kayla Wallis with mentor Dr. Jason Johnson in chemistry/physics; and Monte Stone with mentor Dr. Lisa Appeddu in allied health.