60 from SWOSU Participate in Oklahoma Research Day


Oklahoma Research Day
Among the 40 students and 20 faculty from Southwestern Oklahoma State University participating in the recent 12th annual Oklahoma Research Day 2010 held in Lawton were (from left) students Sara Christoff and Michael Miller and faculty member Todd Parker.  

Twenty-eight posters representing the work of approximately 40 students and 20 faculty from Southwestern Oklahoma State University were recently presented at the 12th annual Oklahoma Research Day 2010 held in Lawton.

Oklahoma Research Day is a consortium event coordinated by Oklahoma's regional universities.

The first event was held in 1999 and included 233 poster presentations by students and faculty from colleges and universities across Oklahoma. Now in its 12th year, Oklahoma Research Day has grown in numbers and stature. Contributions come from all of Oklahoma's institutions of higher learning, and there is collaboration with national and international research institutions. The number of poster presentations has grown to more than 600 with more than 1,200 students, faculty and guests in attendance.

SWOSU faculty participating were Dr. Lisa Appedu, Dr. Jimena Aracena, Dr. Dan Brown, Dr. Benny French, Dr. Vivien Chu, Dr. Andrea Holgado, Dr. Jason Johnson, Dr. Warren Moseley, Mr. Todd Parker, Dr. Anil Pereira, Dr. Hardeep Saluja, Dr. Chris Shane, Dr. Rahmat Talukder, Dr. Muatasem Ubeidat, Dr. Virgil Van Dusen, Ms. Xiaomiao Wang and Dr. Curt Woolever.

SWOSU students participating were Vicki Abernathy, Taylor Baxter, Erica Benda, Steven Bozell, Jessica Casselman, Sarah Christoff, Derrick Dunn, Ryan Cowick, Carissa Fischer, Jill Floyd, Jerrod Frost, Tiffany Garman, Robert Gholson, Chris Goree, David Goree, Melanie Graham, Kassandra Guthmueller, Meghan Haftman, Tyler Hardin, Lauren Hudson, MegAnn Johnson, Connie Lokey, Estrella Lopez, Irene Lopez, Martin Lopez, Crystal Mars, Staci Masquelier, Whitney Merle, Michael Miller, Pamela Moreno, Tayana Patrick, Melissa Peters, Whitney Sawatzky, Anthony Scabby, Chelsey Scheffler, Antionette Smith, Christy Sterba, Vanina Tcheuyap, Toni Trim, Jonathan Walker, Kayla Wallis, Tanner Wheeler and Maggie Yoder.

Oklahoma Research Day was sponsored by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, Oklahoma Experimental Program for Stimulating Competitive Research (EPSCoR) - National Science Foundation, Idea Network for Biomedical Research Experience (INBRE) - National Institutes of Health, the Oklahoma Center for the Advancement of Science and Technology (OCAST), and the Oklahoma regional universities.

The day featured a number of prominent speakers including Dr. Glen Johnson, chancellor of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education and Oklahoma EPSCoR Director Dr. Jerry Malayer. While emphasizing the importance of undergraduate research, the speakers also discussed the future of higher education in the state of Oklahoma and the importance of technological advancement through research as a means to foster economic growth.