SWOSU Receives Glowing Report from The Higher Learning Commission


Southwestern Oklahoma State University with campus locations in Weatherford and Sayre has received a glowing report from The Higher Learning Commission and will maintain accreditation status through 2020-21.

SWOSU's comprehensive evaluation visit from the HLC took place this past fall, and the university recently received word about the results from HLC President Sylvia Manning.

"We are extremely pleased with this report," said SWOSU President Randy Beutler. "The visiting team spoke highly of SWOSU and as a result, the university does not face any additional reports or visits in regards to accreditation."

The HLC is an independent corporation and one of two commission members of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA), which is one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The Higher Learning Commission accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region.

Dr. Cynthia Foust and Dr. Les Crall served as co-chairs of the SWOSU self-study steering team. Other committee members were: Dr. Lisa Appeddu, Tom Fagan, Dr. Peter Grant, Dr. Kelley Logan, Dr. Patsy Parker, Dr. David Ralph and Bill Swartwood.

"I appreciate the leadership of the steering team that guided us through this most important process," Beutler said. "I also want to thank all SWOSU employees for their involvement in the successful results."

SWOSU continues to boast 15 nationally-accredited academic programs-the most among Oklahoma's regional universities.