SWOSU Campuses Go Tobacco-Free on July 1

SWOSU Tobacco Free 

Southwestern Oklahoma State University is tobacco-free starting July 1 of this year.

SWOSU’s campuses in Weatherford and Sayre are starting a new breathe easy era for students, faculty, staff and visitors this summer. Initially announced in 2010 and prompted by a Student Government Association recommendation, the ban on tobacco use is part of SWOSU’s efforts to become more healthy campuses.

Dr. Cindy Foust, vice president for student affairs and associate provost, said the new policy prohibits the use of all tobacco products on all school-owned property 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

SWOSU is working with the Western Oklahoma Tobacco Control Coalition on implementing the tobacco-free campuses. The WOTCC and coordinator Clint Miller are funded by the Oklahoma Tobacco Settlement Endowment Trust and serve the counties of Beckham, Custer, Roger Mills and Washita.

Foust said this is an important step in creating healthier, cleaner and more attractive campuses. Harmful effects of tobacco use account for approximately one in five deaths each year, making it the leading preventable cause of death in the United States. 

For more information on smoking cessation assistance, call the WOTCC at 580.225-6247 or the Oklahoma Tobacco Helpline at 1-800-QUIT-NOW.