SWOSU Represented at Oklahoma State Capitol Memorial Plaza


State Capitol Memorial Plaza
Oklahoma State Capitol Memorial Plaza

All presidents of Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford have engraved pavers at the memorial plaza at the Oklahoma State Capitol thanks to the generosity of MA+ Architecture and the SWOSU Foundation.

The plaza surrounds the Capitol in Oklahoma City and is an area to honor family members and friends who have helped build the state of Oklahoma. The plaza has been developed by the Friends of the Capitol organization.

Each of the presidents is honored with a 15” x 15” granite paver.

The presidents include: James Robert Campbell, 1903-1907; John Fletcher Sharp, 1907-1911; Ulysses J. Griffith, 1911-15; James Burnette Eskridge, 1915-1921; Alfred H. Burris, 1921-23; James Walter Turner, 1923-27; Ernest Edward Brown, 1927-32; Charles Walter Richards, 1932-35; Walter W. Isle, 1935-1939; James B. Boren, 1939-1942; G.S. Sanders, 1942-1945; R. Harold Burton, 1945-1960;  Al Harris, 1960-1975; Leonard Campbell, 1975-1990; Joe Anna Hibler, 1990-2001; John Hays, 2001-2010; and current president Randy Beutler.

Lynne Thurman, assistant to the president for institutional advancement at SWOSU, said there is a computer kiosk located inside the Capitol building that features the history of the university and all of the SWOSU presidents’ biographies.