SWOSU Students and Faculty Attend Oklahoma Research Day


Fifty-one students and 17 faculty members from Southwestern Oklahoma State University participated in the recent 13th annual Oklahoma Research Day held in Lawton.  

Oklahoma Research Day provides an opportunity for Oklahoma regional university students and faculty from all disciplines to showcase their research activities.  SWOSU students and faculty presented a total of 35 projects. 

The event was sponsored by Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, Oklahoma Experimental Program for Stimulating Competitive Research (EPSCoR)- National Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health Oklahoma IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) and Oklahoma Center for the Advancement of Science and Technology.

The 2011 Oklahoma Research Day also featured a number of prominent speakers including Dr. Drew Appleby, associate director of the Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis Honors College; Dr. John Mather, a Nobel Prize Laureate, senior astrophysicist in the Observational Cosmology Laboratory and senior project scientist for the James Webb Space Telescope at Goddard Space Flight Center; and Dawn Kennedy, graduate student at the University of Oklahoma.  Each speaker provided their perspective on the importance of undergraduate research for success as an undergraduate and graduate student as well as the importance of technological advancement through research. 

SWOSU students participating were Vicky Abernathy, Sahar Adibi, Taylor Baxter, Mary Bayer, Erica Benda, Nathan Bernhardt, Madison Cabaniss, Stephanie Chidester, Ryan Christensen, Zella Classen, Cameron Collins, Kara Connelly, Jodi Corley, Jeff Dickey, Josiah Dittrich, Chenxi Du, Angela Edwards, Chelsi England, Bonnie Farris, Mandi Foutch, Sierra Goodwin, Melanie Graham, Tyler Hardin, Dusty Lankford, Lauren Lee, Irene Lopez, Kody McKay, Tyler McLemore, Michael Moore, Pamela Moreno, Charles Moseley, Caleb Murrow, Claudia Nkeih, Sean O’Brien, Maria Ortega, Mary Phillips, Ashley Rodriguez,  LaKesha Seals, Jeff Short, Yesenia Soto, Sarah Souvannachak, Elizabeth St. John, Ashlie Stacy, Timothy Stein, Chris Thornton, Glennda Tiller, Toni Trim, Jonathan Walker, Yifan Wang, Tanner Wheeler and Meredith Word.

SWOSU faculty participating were:  Dr. Lisa Appeddu, Dr. Dan Brown, Dr. Lisa Castle, Dr. Vivien Chu, Dr. Daniel Farris, Dr. Andrea Holgado, Dr. Jason Johnson, Dr. Warren Moseley, Dr. Eric Paul, Dr. Hardeep Saluja, Dr. Christopher Shane,  Dr. Eithel Simpson, Dr. Tony Stein,  Dr. Rahmat Talukder, Dr. Leland Turner, Dr. Muatasem Ubeidat and Xiaomiao Wang.

Additional attendees from SWOSU included Dr. Radwan Al-Jarrah, Dr. Jody Maness and Dr. Lori Gwyn.