James Breckenridge Memorial Piano Competition This Saturday at SWOSU


Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s Department of Music will host its annual James Breckenridge Memorial Piano Competition this Saturday, March 3, in the Ed & Winnie Ola Berrong Music Hall on the Weatherford campus.

Students from around the state of Oklahoma will converge on SWOSU for the competition that honors the memory of long-time faculty member, Dr. James Breckenridge. The event consists of four age divisions: Kindergarten to 3rd grade, 4th to 6th grades, 7th to 9th grades, and 10th to 12th grades.

The contestants will compete in three rounds. The top performers will advance out of the first round, followed by five qualifiers from the second round, and the winners will be crowned in the final round. All five finalists will receive medals.

The judges for the competition are Dr. Dennis Widen, Dr. Sophia Lee, and Elaine Bates, all faculty of the SWOSU Department of Music.

For more information, contact Anthea Lin at 580.774.3709 or at anthea.lin@swosu.edu.