Students Serving as Orientation Leaders on Weatherford Campus


Forty Southwestern Oklahoma State University students are serving as orientation leaders (OLs) on the Weatherford campus.

As OLs, the students are serving as mentors in this fall’s five-week freshmen orientation   courses taught by SWOSU faculty, administration and staff. The students are already involved and responsible for a large part of the orientation sessions for incoming freshmen. The students will also help facilitate Dawg Day activities held during the first few weeks of the fall semester.

The orientation leaders were selected through a competitive application and interview process. The students are enrolled in a two-hour leadership course this spring taught by New Student Orientation Coordinator Shelby Unruh and NSO staff member Jessica Boersma.

The OLs are: Sarah Barton, Weatherford; Mackenzie Bergagnini, Tonkawa (Ponca City HS); Kelsey Blocker, Yukon; Austin Bradshaw, Enid (Cherokee HS); Morgan Brian, Altus (Navajo HS); Shelby Cain, McClave CO (McClave HS); Caleb Cates, Edgewood TX (Edgewood ISD); Matt Clark, McAlester; Kelsey Cloyd, Union City (Yukon HS); Tanner Crandell, Poteau; Myka Davis, Lookeba (Lookeba-Sickles HS); Christann Doye, Walters; Jade Gebeke, Altus; Kenzie Gifford, Elk City; Zach Godwin, Bixby; Jessi Goetzinger, Edmond (Edmond North HS); Lauren Griffin, Vici; Bruce Hatton, Mesquite TX (Mesquite Horn HS); Rachel Holman, Clinton; Tammy Hooper, Mountain View (Mtn. View-Gotebo HS); Eric Igo, Indianhoma; Ashley Koshy, Yukon; Allison Layden, Oklahoma City (Westmoore HS); Suzanne Malave, Amarillo TX (Boys Ranch HS); Rachel Mansour, Yukon; Katie Martin, Sallisaw; Tyler Maxville, Vinita (Commerce HS); Ty Mays, Weatherford; Reyna Mingura, Hollis; Trent Misak, Medford; Davison Nguyen, Oklahoma City (Southmoore HS); Sabrina Rivera, Guymon; Taler Sawatzky, Weatherford; Emily Smith, Shawnee (Bethel HS); Lindsey Smith, Panama (Howe HS); Bailey Spears, Tuttle(Amber-Pocasset HS); Adriana Walker, Guymon; Shaylin White Buffalo, El Reno (Hartshorne HS); Lauren Wilson, Oklahoma City (Westmoore HS); Christian Woods, Jenks. 

The NSO program offers additional leadership roles to selected students through the advisory board. In addition to fulfilling the duties of an orientation leader, members of the advisory board meet weekly and play a greater role in planning orientation and training sessions. The members serve as liaisons between the OLs and NSO staff. The members of the advisory board are Kelsey Blocker, (Student Orientation Session), Taler Sawatzky (Family Orientation Session) and Tammy Hooper (Committees Chair).

For more information, visit or contact New Student Orientation at 580.774.3233 or

NSO orientation sessions this summer are June 11, July 16 and August 17.