SWOSU Students Honored at Social Sciences Honors Banquet


Beutler and Jones
SWOSU President Randy Beutler congratulates Dakota Jones of Yukon for winning the Randy Beutler Scholarship at the annual SWOSU Department of Social Sciences honors banquet. 

Several Southwestern Oklahoma State University students were honored at the recent Department of Social Sciences honors banquet held on the Weatherford campus.

Students honored included all criminal justice, history, history education and political science graduates for Fall 2011, Spring 2012 and Summer 2012 semesters. 

Several graduates were recognized for special achievements.  Annie Daniel, a criminal justice student from Durant, received two awards: Criminal Justice Award for Academic Excellence and the Social Sciences Award for Academic Excellence. Caleb Koos of El Reno was recognized as Political Science Student of the Year. Nicholas Thurman of Weatherford received the History Award for Academic Excellence. The Holley Distinguished Upper Class Major in Criminal Justice Award was given to Caleb Cawhorn of Gore.

Two additional awards were given, both to history students. The John Donley Scholarship was given to McKayley Rogers of Sapulpa, while the Randy Beutler Scholarship recipient was Dakota Jones of Yukon.

The banquet was attended by graduates, their guests, faculty members and SWOSU President Randy Beutler.