SWOSU Graduation Set for May 12


Approximately 930 Southwestern Oklahoma State University students are eligible to walk through the university's commencement at 10 a.m. on Saturday, May 12, at Milam Stadium in Weatherford.

Students who completed or will complete bachelor's, master's or doctoral degrees after the 2011 fall, 2012 spring, 2012 summer and 2012 fall semesters are eligible to participate in the ceremony, which this year will have a different setup. The stage will face the south between the 20- and 30-yard lines on the north end of Fast Lane Field in Milam Stadium, and the graduates will sit in the middle of the football field facing north. Seating for the audience is available on both the west and east sides of Milam Stadium.

An informal reception will be held in the Wellness Center from 8 to 9:30 a.m. Graduates, parents and friends are welcome to relax and visit.

If commencement cannot be held at Milam Stadium because of inclement weather, four separate exercises will be held in two different buildings on the SWOSU campus. An announcement to use the alternative plan will be made on local radio stations and posted on the SWOSU website and the SWOSU hotline number 580.774.3225).

The alternative schedule is:

• 10 a.m.-College of Pharmacy-Fine Arts Center

• 11:45 a.m.-College of Arts and Sciences-Fine Arts Center

• 1:30 p.m.-College of Professional & Graduate Studies-Rankin Williams Fieldhouse (Includes School of Behavioral Sciences and Education, School of Allied Health and School of Nursing)

• 3:15 p.m.-College of Professional & Graduate Studies-Rankin Williams Fieldhouse (Includes School of Business & Technology and Graduate Studies—Master’s Degrees.)

If the alternative plan is used, the Wellness Center will be open from 8 a.m. until 3:15 p.m. to provide coffee and a place for family and friends to gather while waiting for the appropriate ceremony.

Mike Aneshansley of Tulsa and Dr. Russell Rother of Oklahoma City will be inducted into the SWOSU Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame and will be the featured speakers at this year’s SWOSU Commencement. Aneshansley is one of two founders of ENERCON and Rother is executive vice president and chief operating officer of Selexys Pharmaceuticals and formerly chief scientific officer of Alexion Pharmaceuticals in Cheshire (CT).