SWOSU Graduation Attendees Encouraged to Park East of Milam Stadium


Approximately 930 Southwestern Oklahoma State University students are eligible to receive diplomas at the university's commencement this Saturday, May 12, and approximately 9,000 people are expected for the event that starts at 10 a.m. at Milam Stadium in Weatherford.

Those attending the commencement exercises are encouraged to park east of Milam Stadium because of construction work that is currently underway on the new SWOSU Events Center. Some parking spaces on the west side of Milam Stadium will be blocked with construction materials.

On Saturday, an informal reception will be held in the Wellness Center from 8 to 9:30 a.m. Graduates, parents and friends are welcome to relax and visit.

If commencement cannot be held at Milam Stadium because of inclement weather, four separate exercises will be held in two different buildings on the SWOSU campus. An announcement to use the alternative plan will be made on local radio stations and posted on the SWOSU website and the SWOSU hotline number 580.774.3225).

The alternative schedule is:

• 10 a.m.-College of Pharmacy-Fine Arts Center

• 11:45 a.m.-College of Arts and Sciences-Fine Arts Center

• 1:30 p.m.-College of Professional & Graduate Studies-Rankin Williams Fieldhouse (Includes School of Behavioral Sciences and Education, School of Allied Health and School of Nursing)

• 3:15 p.m.-College of Professional & Graduate Studies-Rankin Williams Fieldhouse (Includes School of Business & Technology and Graduate Studies—Master’s Degrees.)

If the alternative plan is used, the Wellness Center will be open from 8 a.m. until 3:15 p.m. to provide coffee and a place for family and friends to gather while waiting for the appropriate ceremony.

Mike Aneshansley of Tulsa and Dr. Russell Rother of Oklahoma City will be inducted into the SWOSU Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame and will be the featured speakers at this year’s SWOSU Commencement. Aneshansley is one of two founders of ENERCON and Rother is executive vice president and chief operating officer of Selexys Pharmaceuticals and formerly chief scientific officer of Alexion Pharmaceuticals in Cheshire (CT).