Tickets on Sale for the SWOSU Production of the 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee


SWOSU Theatre Production
Members of the cast and crew of The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee production at SWOSU are (front from left): Steven Doughty, Yukon; Monica Sallaway, Omaha NE; Sheri Flowers, Edmond; Emma Leffler, Arlington TX; Laura Burleigh, Poteau; Rhiannon Jensen, Woodward; Kierston Rodriquez, Arlington TX; and Winnie Chang, Taiwan. Back from left—Drew Krause, Okeene; Zachary Perry, Thomas; Kiefer Fulsom, Newkirk;  Nikki Reiss, Moore; Calley Lamar, Okeene; Trent Misak, Medford; Kaitlin Nootbaar, Prague; Yitong Zhao, China; Kaitlin Belden, Ledyard CT; and Eric Martin, Weatherford. Not pictured are Kelsey Blocker, Yukon; Dacia Peterman, Weatherford; Merritt Taylor Cordell; and Kalee Toyekoyah, Anadarko.      

Tickets are now on sale for Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s final main stage production of the 2012-2013 theatre season as the SWOSU Players will present the musical/ comedy The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee on March 28-30 on the Weatherford campus.

Performances will begin nightly at 7:30 p.m. in the SWOSU Hilltop Theatre.

The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee is a hilarious tale of overachievers' angst chronicling the experience of six adolescent outsiders vying for the spelling championship of a lifetime. The show's Tony Award winning creative team has created the unlikeliest of hit musicals about the unlikeliest of heroes: a quirky yet charming cast of outsiders for whom a spelling bee is the one place where they can stand out and fit in at the same time. Six young people in the throes of puberty, overseen by grown-ups who barely managed to escape childhood themselves, learn that winning isn't everything and that losing doesn't necessarily make one a loser.

Admission for the Department of Communication and Theatre production is $5 for adults, $3 for non-SWOSU students and free for individuals with a valid SWOSU ID.  Reservations will be taken at the SWOSU Hilltop Theatre from 4-7 p.m. on March 11-15 and 25-30 or by calling 580.774.6046.  Seating is very limited and reservations are encouraged. Please note that this production contains some language and subject matter that may not be appropriate for all ages.

Portraying the six spelling bee competitors are Sheri Flowers (Edmond junior) as Olive Ostrovsky, Drew Krause (Okeene sophomore) as Leaf Coneybear, Emma Leffler (Arlington, TX freshman) as Marcy Park, Trent Misak (Medford freshman) as Chip Tolentino, Zachary Perry (Thomas freshman) as William Barfée and Kierston Rodriquez (Arlington, TX freshman) as Logainne Schwartz and Grubeniere. The hosts of the spelling bee are portrayed by Laura Burleigh (Poteau freshman) as Rona Lisa Peretti, Steven Doughty (Yukon senior) as Douglas Panch and Yitong Zhao (Beijing, China junior) as Mitch Mahoney, the comfort counselor.

Other SWOSU students involved in the production include: Calley Lamar (Okeene sophomore), stage manager;  Rhiannon Jensen (Woodward freshman), assistant stage manager; Nikki Reiss (Moore sophomore), charge scenic artist/props designer/sound board operator; Merritt Taylor (Cordell sophomore), assistant costume designer;  Monica Sallaway (Omaha, Nebraska), house manager;  Kiefer Fulsom (Newkirk junior) light board operator; Kaitlin Nootbaar  (Prague), crew; Winnie Chang (Taiwan), crew; Kaitlin Belden (Ledyard, CT), crew;  KaleeToyekoyah (Anadarko freshman),crew;  Dacia Peterman (Weatherford senior) sound design; and Kelsey Blocker (Yukon senior), box office manager.  

The production is under the guidance of Steve Strickler—director; Stephen Haynes--technical director; and Eric Martin—music director.