Les Crall Appointed to Peanut Standards Board

Les Crall

Dr. Leslie D. Crall, associate dean of the Southwestern Oklahoma State University School of Business & Technology, was recently appointed by Agriculture Secretary Tom Bilsack to be one of five representatives on the Peanuts Standards Board.

The Peanut Standards Board is made up of 18 members representing the Southwest Region, which covers the states of Oklahoma, Texas and New Mexico; the Southeast Region covering Alabama, Georgia and Florida; and the Virginia-Carolina Region, which includes Virginia and North Carolina.

Crall, also a Custer County peanut farmer, will serve through June 2015. The board consults with the USDA to establish or change quality and handling standards for domestically-produced and imported peanuts.

Crall currently serves as vice chairman of the Oklahoma Peanut Commission and was reappointed to the Peanut Standards Board for a second term.