SWOSU COP Hosts Preceptors in Oklahoma City and Tulsa


Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s College of Pharmacy in Weatherford recently hosted preceptor conferences in Tulsa and Oklahoma City.

Just over 200 pharmacy preceptors attended the conferences with 61 in Tulsa and 141 in Oklahoma City.

Pharmacy preceptors were recognized for their commitment to the experiential training of pharmacy students by providing students with an outstanding learning experience.

Award recipients include: Preceptor of the Year Lisa M. Benham, Enid; Distinguished Selective Preceptor of the Year Debra L. Stevens, Oklahoma City; Distinguished Clinical Preceptor of the Year Amanda M. Hembree, Sperry; Distinguished Community Preceptor of the Year Andrea L. Clem, Edmond; and Distinguished Introductory Preceptor of the Year Janet S. Beard, Wichita Falls (TX).

SWOSU Counseling Services Counselor Tamara Misak was the keynote speaker and presented the “Using Your True Colors to Maximize Professionalism, Teaching, Learning and Communication” program. Other presenters included SWOSU COP Dean Dennis Thompson, University of Oklahoma COP Assistant Dean of Experiential Programs Vince Dennis and Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy Compliance Officer Chelsea Church. Small group sessions were led by SWOSU pharmacy practice faculty.

This annual event is hosted on an alternating basis by the SWOSU COP and OU COP.