Looking Back to 1940s: SWOSU College of Pharmacy

1940s Pharmacy Lab
Two students work in one of the pharmacy labs during the decade of the 1940s. 

Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s College of Pharmacy will celebrate its 75th anniversary April 25-27 on the Weatherford campus.

Dr. Krista Brooks, chair of the organizing committee, said SWOSU College of Pharmacy alumni, faculty, students and guests are invited to attend all events. Additional information is available at: http://www.swosu.edu/academics/pharmacy/anniversary/docs/EventSchedule.pdf 

Looking Back: 1940s

  • Albert Eaton and Bert Brundage led the fight to establish a School of Pharmacy in western Oklahoma.
  • Dr. L.J. Klotz, chemistry professor, was the first head of the new pharmacy department, which enrolled its first class of 27 students in September of 1939.
  • The first labs and classes were held in the Administration and Old Science Buildings.
  • Clyde Miller and J.T. Moore were the first pharmacy graduates in 1941.