SWOSU's Tri Beta Wins Impressive Awards at Regional Conference

Tri Beta
SWOSU’s Tri Beta Chapter was awarded the Outstanding Chapter for District 1 of the South Central Region of Beta Beta Beta, a national biological honor society. Accepting were (front from left): Mason Howe and Jamin Brown. Back from Left: Dr. Andrea Holgado, Mandi Foutch, Timothy Stein, Sue Ball, Angie Hoover, Elizabeth Jansing, Melissa Brewer, Abby McKisson, Nile McCullough, Lauren Blatzheim, Alfa Abame and Ashley Rodriguez.

Seven Southwestern Oklahoma State University biology students at Weatherford recently won regional honors at the 2014 Beta Beta Beta (national biological honor society) South Central Regional Convention held recently at Lake Texhoma.

Twenty-two universities from Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas sent students to the annual convention.

SWOSU’s Timothy Stein of Enid won first place for Outstanding Oral Presentation (Brooks Award- includes travel money to the national convention), Lauren Blatzheim of Norman and Abby McKisson of Edmond won first place for Outstanding Poster Presentation (Johnson Award- includes travel money to the national convention), and Ashley Rodriguez of Clinton won first place in the Outstanding Graduate Student competition.

Nile McCullough of Oklahoma City won second place for Outstanding Poster Presentation, Jamin Brown of Woodward won third place in Outstanding Oral Presentation and Mason Howe of Okeene won third place for Outstanding Poster Presentation.

Stein’s presentation was “Correlating VSM-1 Expression with Muscle Physiology”. His mentor for this work was Biology Associate Professor Dr. Andrea Holgado.

Blatzheim’s presentation was “Integrative Biological Effects of the Neonicotinoid Pesticide Thiamethoxam in Honey Bees”. Blatzheim’s research was conducted in Turkey with funding from the National Science Foundation.  Her mentor for this work was Biology Assistant Professor Dr. Victor Gonzalez.

McKisson’s presentation was “The Effect of Long-Term Diet-Induced Hyperglycemia and Hyperlipidemia on Oxidative Balance in Mouse Heart”. McKisson’s research was conducted at the Center for Veterinary Health Sciences at Oklahoma State University. Her mentor for this work was OSU Associate Professor Dr. Pamela Lloyd.

Rodriguez’s presentation was “Analysis of Differential Gene Expression Profiles in C. elegans Knockouts for the v-SNARE Master Protein”.  Her mentor was Dr. Andrea Holgado.

Brown’s presentation was “Targeting Mitotic Machinery for Therapeutic Cancer Treatment”.  His mentor was OMRF Scientist, Dr. Dean Dawson.

Howe’s presentation was “Generating Caenorhabditis elegans UNC-33 Antigens to be Used for the Synthesis of Polyclonal Antibodies”.  His mentor was also Dr. Andrea Holgado.

McCullough’s presentation was “Angiotensin II increases TRPV4 localization to plasma membrane in hypothalamic neuronal cell line 4B: implications for water and electrolyte homeostasis”.  McCullough’s research was conducted at the University of North Texas Health Science Center. His mentor for this work was Dr. Thomas Cunningham.

SWOSU’s Delta Sigma chapter was awarded Outstanding Chapter for District 1 of the South Central Region, which includes Arkansas, Louisiana and Oklahoma.

The SWOSU chapter was founded in 1952 and is dedicated to improving the understanding and appreciation of biological studies. Research at the convention was funded by the National Science Foundation, Oklahoma INBRE, the SWOSU College of Arts and Sciences, SWOSU student allocation funds and the SWOSU Biology Department.