Pharmacy Advisory Council Hears Updates on SWOSU

COP Dean's Advisory Council
Members of the SWOSU College of Pharmacy Dean’s Advisory Council include (front from left): James Kirk, Edmond; Mary Porter, Oklahoma City; Derek Dennis, Mustang; Janet Beard, Wichita Falls (TX). Back from left—Kirk Irby, Artesia (NM); John Foust, Oklahoma City; Carl Birdsong, Amarillo (TX); Doyle High, Austin (TX); Dean Dennis Thompson; Roger Enix, Edmond; and SWOSU President Randy Beutler.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s College of Pharmacy (COP) Dean’s Advisory Council meeting was recently held on the Weatherford campus and members of the council heard an update on the university from SWOSU President Randy Beutler and COP Dean Dennis Thompson.

Beutler updated the council on the status of SWOSU, and Thompson gave a tour of the COP building as well as an update on plans for a possible new COP building. Thompson also briefed the council on the recent Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education visit this past February. COP Rural Health Coordinator Randy Curry gave a presentation on the COP’s Rural Health Initiative.

The council is an invited group of regional pharmacy leaders from both the public and private sectors whose purpose is to provide a channel of communication between the professional/business communities and the SWOSU COP and to assist with advocacy, philanthropy and general advancement of the college.

The council assists Thompson in strategic planning/future opportunities and possible threats in the changing health care environment. Thompson said the Council is scheduled to meet on a yearly basis to offer insight into the external environment—from legislative to industry trends—that impacts the college’s mission and strategic plan.