Weatherford Branch of AAUW Kicks Off New Year this Saturday

Weatherford’s branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) will have its first meeting of the 2014-15 year this Saturday, September 6, at the SWOSU Conference Center. 

The meeting will start with a brunch at 10 a.m. followed by a general informational session on plans for the upcoming year.  The general public is invited to attend.

AAUW membership is open to all individuals who have completed a college/university degree (associate, bachelor’s, master’s or doctorate). Current college students are eligible for a free student e-affiliate membership.

The AAUW Weatherford Branch meets once each month, September through April, to conduct educational, community service and social activities.  Branch activities include funding college scholarships, supporting at least one SWOSU student to attend the National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCWSSL) conference, breast cancer awareness activities, Tech Trek math & science camp for girls, and the annual branch luncheon.

Branch officers include: President Lisa Appeddu (SWOSU College of Pharmacy), President-elect Lori Gwyn (SWOSU Chemistry), Vice President-Membership Darla Davenport (SWOSU Human Resources), Vice President-Programs Cindi Albrightson (SWOSU Engineering Technology), Past President Patsy Parker (SWOSU School of Business and Technology), Secretary Laura Endicott (SWOSU Social Sciences) and Treasurer Kathy O’Neal (SWOSU Mathematics). Lisa Friesen (SWOSU Computer Science) is proposed to be the branch’s new social media chair.

For more information about AAUW, call Appeddu at 580.774.3148 or Davenport at 580.774.3071.  Special rates for new members are available.  Additionally, the AAUW Weatherford branch has a website ( and can be found on Facebook.