SWOSU Jazz Ensembles Plan September 24 Concert

The Southwestern Oklahoma State University Music Department kicks off its concert season with performances by Jazz Ensemble A and Jazz Ensemble B on Wednesday, September 24, at 7 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center Auditorium on the Weatherford campus.

There is free admission to the concert.

Jazz Ensemble A is directed by Dr. Richard Tirk and will feature music by Duke Ellington, Neal Hefti, Gordon Goodwin and a host of other artists. Tirk is also the director of Jazz Ensemble B, and student conductor Samantha Canon of Enid will lead the group on one chart.

For more information, contact the Music Department at 580...-774-3708 or Dr. Richard Tirk at richard.tirk@swosu.edu.

Members of the ensembles are:

Jazz Ensemble A


Samantha Canon, Enid

Cody Manning, Washington

Mario Trinidad, Moore

Blanca Chavez, Tampico, Mex.

Kesha Mashaw, Anadarko


Jakub Chermack, Enid

Austin Hardman, Guymon

Tommy Smith, Elk City

Benjamin King, Urbana, IL

Joaquin Martinez, Anadarko


Myles Madden, Clinton

Anthony Valentine, Oklahoma City

Jayden Goeringer, Bessie

Jared Ragan, St. Louis, MO

Rhythm Section:

Piano- Christian Covington, McCloud

Vibes- Jordan Satterlee, Oklahoma City

Bass- Huxley Owens, Ponca City

Drums- Jordan Ewing, Weatherford

Jazz Ensemble B


Devin Bettencourt, Kingfisher

Kristi Burghardt, Okeene

Ali Oldright, Duncan

Jarrod Tinnin, Moore

Keely Clements, Oklahoma City

Kristen Whaley, Collinsville

Colleen Garrett, Elk City


Jaime Mayorga, Hinton

Zachary Cravens, Oklahoma City

Sedalia ‘Daily’ Wilson, Wellston

Noe’ Ruiz, Marlow

Stephanie Griffith, Cordell

Andrew Carlson, Enid


Brian Fry, Enid

Tony Buckley, Enid

Dallis Toth, Lawton

James Hill, Ringwood

Vance Brainard, Mulhall

Rhythm Section:

Kris Benton, Stroud- Piano

Jeremy Stubbs, Magee, MS- Drums

Joshua Ford, Hobart- Drums

Ashley House, Marlow- Vibes

Kyle Hernasy, Anadarko- Bass

Anthony Valentine, Oklahoma City- Bass

Lincoln Weber, Lawton- Guitar