SWOSU Jazz Ensemble Touring Nov. 6-7 and Hosting Concert on Nov. 9

Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s Jazz Ensemble 'A' at Weatherford will make its annual tour and make stops November 6-7 at high schools in Elk City, Altus, Moore, Southmoore and Midwest City.

Dr. Richard Tirk, director of the ensemble, said Jazz 'A' has prepared several classic charts including Glenn Miller's 'String of Pearls', Maynard Ferguson's 'Give it One', and music by Gordon Goodwin, Steve Wiest and the late Fred Sturm among others.  

While all of the other shows are during the school day, the Midwest City concert will be held in conjunction with a concert by the Midwest City High School jazz ensemble, directed by Mark Hensley.  The 7 p.m. concert on November 7 will be held at the Midwest City High School auditorium and is open to the public.  

Following the tour, Jazz Ensemble 'A' will join up with Jazz Ensemble 'B' to present a home concert on Sunday, November 9, at 3 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center on the SWOSU campus.

Jazz Ensemble 'B' will kick off the show with tunes by Doug Beach, Bob Mintzer, Mark Taylor, Lou Gagliardi and LaBarbara.  Jazz Ensemble 'A' will perform their tour charts including the exciting 'Superbone meets the Badman', a tune made famous by trumpeter Maynard Ferguson.  In this piece, the character Superbone will be performed by SWOSU trombonist and Clinton native Myles Madden and his nemesis, Badman, will be played by Anadarko bari sax player Kesha Mashaw.

The concert is free and open to the public.  For more information, contact the Department of Music Office at 580.774.3708.

Members of Jazz Ensemble “A” are: saxophone—Samantha Canon, Enid; Cody Manning, Washington; Mario Trinidad, Moore; Blanca Chavez, Tampico Mexico; and Kesha Mashaw, Anadarko. Trumpet—Jakub Chermack, Enid; Austin Hardman, Guymon; Tommy Smith, Elk City; Benjamin King, Irbana IL; and Joaquin Martinez, Anadarko. Trombone—Myles Madden, Clinton; Anthony Valentine, Oklahoma City; Jayden Goeringer, Bessie; and Jared Ragan, St. Louis MO.  Rhythm Section—Piano-Christina Covington, McLoud; Vibes-Jordan Satterlee, Oklahoma City; Bass-Huxley Owens, Ponca City; and Drums-Jordan Ewing, Weatherford.

Members of Jazz Ensemble “B” are: saxophone—Devin Bettencourt, Kingfisher; Kristi Burghardt, Okeene; Ali Oldright, Duncan; Jarrod Tinnin, Moore; Keely Clements, Oklahoma City; Kristen Whaley, Collinsville; and Colleen Garrett, Elk City. Trumpet—Jaime Mayorga, Hinton; Zachary Cravens, Oklahoma City; Sadalia “Daily” Wilson, Wellston; Noe’ Ruiz, Marlow; Stephanie Griffith, Cordell; Andrew Carlson, Enid.  Trombone—Brian Fry, Enid; Tony Buckley, Enid; Dallis Toth, Lawton; James Hill, Rose Hill; Vance Brainard, Mulhall. Rhythm Section—Piano-Kris Benton, Stroud; Vibes-Ashley House, Marlow; Bass-Kyle Hernasy, Anadarko; and Anthony Valentine, Oklahoma City; Guitar-Lincoln Weber, Lawton.